Summer 2017 Trends: The Frill of It

My latest post in my Summer 2017 Trends is all about ruffles and frills. From shoes to trousers, skirts to tops, frills seem to be everywhere this season. Adding a statement to any look, you can choose to go bold with large ruffles or try a  more subtle version by simply having ruffled shoes or sleeves. Whatever way it’s styled, I’m completely in love with this trend.

My Take on the Trend

IMG_8682
bitch stare on point

I’m clearly addicted to River Island, so obviously most of my outfit is from the shop. I love this bardot black frilled crop top! It goes with almost everything and I really think a top like this is a wardrobe must have! These white trousers are B-EAU-TI-FUL! I fell in love with them the second I saw them in store and of course I had to buy them! They’re also available in a few different colours. The hoop earrings than I’m wearing here (and basically with  every other outfit) are from River Island too. My shoes were a Christmas present from ASOS. Unfortunately they’re no longer in stock but here’s a similar style for only £25

River Island

River Island is definitely my favourite high street shop right now. I will actually go in every time I’m anywhere nearby and can always find something I want. I love these block heel sandals that are available in yellow or pink, although I do have to say the yellow are probably my favourite. They will dress up jeans and a t-shirt and add colour to an outfit. I really love this type of shoe because they’re so comfortable! I have a similar style that I picked up last summer and wore to death on nights out. They give you a bit of height and help make your legs look toned and elongated, but because they aren’t too high they’re incredibly comfortable! This cream bandeau frilled top is absolutely gorgeous! It’s so pretty and structured, team it with some black skinny jeans, heels and some statement earrings and you’ve got the perfect outfit. Finally, I am definitely going to try and find this black one shoulder top! It is stunning!  (even though I will describe everything in River Island as stunning without fail) I love tops that highlight my décolletage, and the one shoulder is bang on trend too!

 

Missguided

I’m desperate to get this gingham frilled mini-skirt from Missguided. It’s definitely ticking off the SS17 trends, and I think it would look so nice with a graphic tee and some trainers during the day or dressed up for night. I love things that I can take from day to night, especially living on a student budget, and at Missguided prices you really can’t go wrong! (Register for Unidays here for student discount on a range of brands including Missguided) This little one shoulder frilled top is so cute too and hitting that asymmetric trend as well! It’s so simple I think it would look gorgeous with some pared back glowy makeup and with the ruffle detail you wouldn’t need any statement jewellery.

 

New Look

New Look is definitely hit and miss with me. I know so many people who love it but I really find myself just walking past it more often that I do going in. But I should really have a look more often because you really can find some gems inside! I love this pair of pink frilled hem trousers that are very similar to my white pair from River Island but for only £20!

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.58.13

 ASOS

This one shoulder jumpsuit from ASOS’ own line is so cool and is perfect to throw on for a night out with a pair of heels. I’m currently crushing on this cute little ruffle sleeve top which is perfect for holidays. I’d love to wear this with some white jeans and it is definitely another item that could be taken from day to night! Finally these little beauties! These pink ruffled shoes are so pretty and would add a fab pop of colour and tick off the ruffle trend to most outfits this summer! They would look great with a white sundress or some jeans and could definitely be taken from day to night as well!

 

Thanks for reading,

Emily x

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. workwithithere June 17, 2017 — 8:59 am

    Just wanted to drop by as I was scrolling through the WordPress reader to say that your outfit looks really nice. I really like the shirt 🙂

    ~ Bree

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

